Tags

,

Content below the is not PG-13.

Guest Author ~ Shannan Albright
author image

I’m happy to have Author Shannan Albright with us today. Take her away, Shannan!

What is your perception of your personality?

I am a recluse by nature. A good day for me is when I don’t have to leave the house. I am a bit socially awkward at first until I get comfortable. I can be crazy and fun loving in social gatherings, even though I had to learn those skills.

Where do you live?

Las Vegas, Nevada and just so you know I avoid the strip like the plague. In many ways it is like any other town. The only difference is nothing ever closes. Believe it or not I came here for the heat, not the gambling.

What habits or routines do you find you must follow to be able to write?

In three words – Post it Notes. They are everywhere when I’m working. After finishing a book I toss them and start again. I also have my little dog, a Chorkie named Kamie snuggled behind me on my chair when I write.

What is your writing style? Why do you think your writing style is such as it is?

My writing style is snarky, or so I’ve been told. I have a bit of a caustic and dry sense of humor. I guess I blame my best friend Kyle and all the Monty Python programs and movies we saw together growing up. Curse you Kyle!

How long have you been writing? Casually or academically? Professionally?

Humm how old is Methuselah? I started writing at the age of two when I would draw pictures and make stories to go with them. I got serious in 1980, but after about a million rejections I got sucked back into illustration work. I just started back into it in 2008 and bam! I published in 2010.

If you could meet a favorite character (from some one else’s writing ) or author who would it be and why?

I would love to meet Acheron from Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series. I have a thing for tortured gods I guess. Seriously, this character is so well written he practically leapt off the page for me. I got him, his hopes, dreams, fears and vulnerability.

What is something you’d like the reader to know about you and your writing?

I’m approachable and I share. Whether it’s about the craft or who I am as a writer. I believe in giving back and if someone wants to write I can think of nothing better than to help that person out. I also respect my readers and listen when they have something to say.

How did you decide on the title?

As with all of my books, the title came in a line I wrote. In this book Arthur is awestruck at one point in the book and looks at Gwen thinking, ‘this woman of worth is the King’s Lady.

Blurb:

Arthur Penner is more than happy to aid a lady in need of help, especially if the woman is targeted by his nemesis Vance Hollister. The fact the woman in question turns out to be not only a pbookcover 01owerful witch, but a gorgeous red head with a wealth of curves that don’t quit? Even better.

What he isn’t prepared for is the discovery that the woman just happens to be his reincarnated Queen Gwenivere, and worse, she has no memory of who he is.

Gwen McAllister finds herself between a rock and a hard spot. Drawn to the quiet strength and confidence of Arthur. It isn’t until her memories are savagely restored by a vengeful goddess that she realizes who she is and the bitter betrayal she caused. Even her familiar, a mouthy Himalayan named Salt seems to be against her, demanding she trust the very man she destroyed.

A new threat is rising, one, which will plunge the world, they know into darkness. To defeat an old enemy they must depend on each other and learn to forgive. Can they let go of the past and embrace the promise of a future or will they lose everything in the ultimate battle between good and evil?

Excerpt:

Arthur moved up the small path heading for the front door and the inevitable conflict with Vance. His blood pumped in readiness, and he controlled his breathing, remembering the first lesson he learned in the art of warfare. Never fight with your emotions.

The sound of shattering glass broke the peaceful air surrounding the neighborhood. A huge shadow hurtled past him, forcing him a step back to keep from being hit. Drake and Merci moved to his side as they looked first to the broken front window and then to the old recliner now resting  on its side next to the large elm tree. A curse exploded from Drake as he leapt up the steps and kicked in the door, Merci on his heels as they disappeared inside.

Arthur followed, pulling out the long buck knife strapped to his ankle, his hand firm around the handle. He stepped into the home, ignoring the broken pieces of furniture strewn about the room. His entire focus riveted on the broad back of a tall dark-haired man impeccably dressed and pulsing with enough twisted magic it repelled him to take a step back. Gritting his teeth against the pressure building against his temples, he forced his feet to carry him further into the room, Drake and Merci at his sides, their combined magic ready to engage.

Vance swung his head to the side, pinning Arthur with a gaze of pure malice. “I was expecting you to show up much later, Father. I assumed I would already be gone and the prize with me. Ah, well, that’s what I get for assuming, don’t you agree?”

“You underestimated me yet again, Vance,” Arthur drawled, his southern accent becoming more pronounced. “It’s becoming a habit of yours, you know?”

“Not this time. This time you underestimated me. Tell your guard dogs to back off, or I’ll kill the witch.”

At his demand, he swung around, showing what his big body kept hidden. A blaze of red hair cascaded down her shoulders in a wild tumble of curls framing a heart-shaped face. Thick dark lashes framed large eyes slightly tilted up and dominated her delicate features. Full lush lips parted as she rasped in a breath. Vance’s hand tightened around her throat and lifted her up until she was forced to stand on her toes in order to keep from strangling.

Arthur could only stare in mute silence, stunned and helpless against the pull of those glistening blue eyes the color of the Caribbean Sea. Eyes he hoped he would never again gaze into, for within those sparkling eyes housed the soul of the only woman he had ever loved. And the one whose betrayal he could never forgive.

Giveaway:

PDF of the first book Beloved Wizard: Knights of Excalibur Book One and a $15.00 Amazon gift card.

Buy links:

Amazon Kindle
eXtasy Books
Manic Readers

Upcoming Events:

RomCon in Grand Junction, Colorado on June 20th – 23rd.
Hot Mojave Knights – A reader event October 18th – 20th

Find me at:

Website: www.shannanalbright.com
Blog: www.shannanalbright.blogspot.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/shannan.albright
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ShannanAlbright
Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/fanships/user/4611256-shannan-albright

