Tags

, ,

May not be PG-13.

author image

Author Michael Lorde ~ Fantasy/Dystopia and Psychological Thrillers

Michael, welcome! I know our guests are anxious to know more about you and your writing. Take it away.

About you

Do you have children, a significant other, or pets?

I have four children and I’m an avid dog lover.

What do you like to do to balance the demands writing places on you?

While I enjoy a number of hobbies, one which I plan to pursue further is my love for flying. Unfortunately, it’s been a while since I’ve flown. I’d like to get back to that this year.

You as writer

What prepared you for becoming a writer?

I think it was a deep seeded dream that I’ve carried around my entire life. Once my older children were raised and out of the house, I could no longer fight it. I’m grateful that I now have the time to focus on it and for the support of family and friends. It would be so much more difficult if I didn’t have that.

What habits or routines do you find you must follow to be able to write?

I need quiet when I write.

Your writing

How long have you been writing?

I’ve written since about the age of ten. I never had the time or opportunity to complete my works and publish until a couple of years ago, mainly because I’ve been a single parent with four children. Since I have now been able to make this Sailboat Under Blue Skies off the Florida Coasthappen, I’m pretty happy about it.

Are you independently or traditionally published writer?

I’m an Indie Author.

What do you write?

I mainly write fantasy/dystopia and psychological thrillers, though I’m sure that I will try other genres eventually. I currently publish in eBook form, but the paperback copies are coming soon.

How do you keep yourself motivated to write?

It’s the feeling I have while writing that makes me want to do it, so there isn’t much ‘outside’ motivation required. The challenge is how to keep myself from thinking about writing, when I’m doing other things.

Talk to us about your cover.

Tolomay’s World and The Pool of Light has to do with young adults (in our future), being sent even further ahead to a time when the earth is once again like the Garden of Eden. Tolomay has been tasked with keeping the world’s community safe and healthy. On the book cover she is holding the future of the world. In essence, the future of mankind is in her care.

Characters

Do you have a fave character?

My mother has told me that Tolomay is her heroine. She’s mine as well. I like that she holds the strengths she does, while still being in touch with the hearts of others… at least, for the most part. She is still human, after all, so her failings show too. This combination in her character makes her very real and appealing to write. She’s strong yet vulnerable, trustworthy yet doesn’t cower beneath her faults. Her heart is usually in the right place.

Do any of your characters reflect anyone you know?

No one in particular, however, I’m sure my characters share traits with many folks I know.

If you could meet one character from your writing, who would it be?

I’d like to meet Tarron. He’s a pretty smart dude, well versed in the science fields, and an inventor. He’s rather like a future Einstein. If he were alive, I’d pick his brain.

If you could meet a favorite character (from someone else’s writing) or author who would it be and why?

I really enjoy the characters in Author Zoe Saadia’s series. The first book of the series of five novels is ‘At Road’s End’. Her writing is really smooth and written in a style I haven’t found in anyone elses writing. Her characters and actions really come to life for me, so I wouldn’t mind talking to a few of her male characters… the warriors are the ones I enjoy the most.

Miscellaneous

What is something you’d like the reader to know about you or your writing?

While I love to write, it’s very much my goal that my readers enjoy what I’m writing. I want to connect with my readers, so feel free to send a friend request or message on facebook or twitter. These contacts with readers are priceless to all of us Indie Authors, as are reviews. Sometimes a review is our only way to gage our work and we really do appreciate those minutes out of your busy day, when you leave reviews. I would like to develop a strong level of interaction with my readers for the Tolomay’s World series.

If writing hadn’t been the path you chose, what do you think you’d be doing today?

I’ve worked in a number of fields in my lifetime. Management and education among others. Writing is my all-time favorite, and I will be doing this for as long as I can.

What is the hardest review or criticism you’ve had about your writing and how did you deal with it?

Criticism is part of the growth process. My father once told me, ‘You never learn from someone else’s mistakes.’ Thosewere pretty wise words. While I won’t quote my hardest review, because I’d feel petty in doing so, I will say that in a sense it was a great compliment (it was not a review for Tolomay’s World). The thing an author has to remember about reviews is that those who leave them, usually really, really loved the book, or they really, really disliked it. To be in this industry means taking the good with the bad. There is no right or wrong to an opinion, everyone’s entitled to theirs, and most especially when it comes to the arts and entertainment. While you can’t please everyone and would go mad trying to, a review can help an author to grow, provided they pay attention to what’s being said. I read my reviews.

Your publication

Which one of your publications will you be sharing today?

Tolomay’s World And The Pool of Light, it’s a Post-Apacolyptic, Fantasy Romance, Dystopia, Time Travel novel- the first of a series of seven.

bookcover 02Why did you choose this one?

Tolomay’s World And The Pool of Light is a ‘New Release’ and one I truly enjoying writing. I love watching folks solve their problems, and I love nature. I am pretty hard on my characters as far as what problems I throw at them. This book series is packed full of both problems and nature, so there it is.

What do you think and feel about this publication?

My main character has my attention. She wants her series and she’s getting it. Seven books are slotted and formatted and the second and third of the series will be released within weeks of one another, very soon.

How did you decide on the title?

Just like with all my novels, the title comes with the story. It just fit on a number of different levels, some even ironic, so I didn’t question it.

Are any of the scenes or storylines in your book real life experiences? Or, is your book born purely of imagination?

Well, in some ways I’m a naturalist, so that’s in my blood. Though I don’t look it, I have American Indian heritage on both sides of my family tree (Algonquin – Iroquois- The Great Seneca Nation – upstate NY). I’ve always felt a strong connection to that part of my families past. Maybe that’s why the desire to go camping, fishing, etc. seems always present in my mind, though I rarely have the time to do it the past couple of years.

The rest of the book is entirely fiction. One reason I enjoy this series is because of the quirky language in it- and don’t ask me how I do it- I have no answer. The storyline comes to me that way, quirks and all.

Blurb

What’s your story or publication about?

The plot is set in the earth’s future, where the youth of the world have the privilege and burden of saving humanity from extinction.

Years before an apocalyptic event, a new means of travel is discovered. The modern technology comes just in the nick of time. Though none can return to a past-time in order to fix what men have destroyed, some candidates can now move forward to begin anew.

Highly intelligent, Tolomay Ramey was trained since birth to do one thing… to lead others into the future of the ‘clean earth’ where both nature and mankind are given a fresh start. Leaving the pod community behind, she arrives as the only living ‘Original’ from the first team of candidates. The clean world, abundant with plant and animal life, is covered in green for the first time in hundreds of years.
Unfortunately for this young girl and despite the beauty of the replenished earth, nothing she experiences from the moment she arrives is as expected. Alone for three years, until others finally join her, she learns to survive off the land, but that will not be what she finds most challenging. What will happen when a strong-headed young man arrives with the mindset that he should have been the first in this paradise? Can independent Tolomay and fiercely confident Kenter meet in the middle? Can the clean world become what it was intended to be for the new community, or will all thoughts of peace be left a thousand years in the past?

Excerpt

What does it mean to be in love with the world? I cannot tell a soul. For it has been long for me, too long. Not that the passion is dead in me. It’s alive and well and it screams at me each day from the first sign of sunlight, until I close my eyes to sleep. This place is more than I would have thought, but the isolation makes it impossible to share things with anyone else. Today is my birthday and once again I spend it alone.

Three years is too long to be alone on this earth, even with Carmella at my side. I first saw her after the blast, the one that took the others. Even then, even while the ground still shook, Carmella sat looking at me as she does now. It was as if she instinctively knew what it did to them, as if she knew there would be no others aside from me from then on out. Without a blink or so much as a shiver, she sat frozen on that rock looking at me with those heavy lidded eyes. That day I cried for hours, longer than I care to recall. Carmella does not know of self pity. Pity does not help a creature who’s struggling alone to survive in the wild.

She may be a different breed, but we are friends, two females living together as silent partners, Carmella and I, lizard and gardener. We rely on each other. I like to think it that she has the nature of truly caring for me, aside from the insects that I feed her. Garden crickets are her favorite and are in ample supply on this hillside. Not those little green ones, mind you, but the big black ones that squirm in her mouth and crackle as she swallows them whole. They are too big for her, but none the less she gobbles them up even while they cause her to choke. The lizard will never learn not to bite off more than she can chew, but who can blame her? Perhaps crickets are her chocolate. It’s been so long since my taste of chocolate, that I don’t believe something as diminutive as a little choking would prevent me from inhaling a chunk of the sweet brown heaven. If one were available in this place I’d devour it.

So here I am waiting with Carmella. Each Tuesday it’s the same routine. Even in oblivion, consistency rules the planet. Tarron told us it would be like this. He said that the waiting would be grueling. Though he himself had never and could never swim in the light; he was too old, but he was right. The waiting was hard and you cannot train for that.

I prepared myself for three months before my swim, isolating myself whenever possible from the rest of the group. I stayed in my room, ate alone, camped for three weeks straight in the wood’s side of the lab’s property. I did it right, just as Tarron trained me to do. I thought I was ready enough when the time came to take the step. I thought I was. I was wrong. No one could ever be prepared enough for the waiting because I am never sure that what I wait for will come. Another day, another glorious day, but without human companionship I look to creatures for comfort. Though they can be wondrous, there is so much to be missed by the human glance, the words, the smile, the touch. Yet this is why I did it, wasn’t it? All of us in Tee-Pod are spirits who love the world and humanity.

Carmella blinked, scampered toward me and then ran onto my hand and up my arm, finally resting on my shoulder. I rubbed the top of her head. When the coddling stopped, she leaned in for more.

It was Tuesday afternoon and the sun beamed hot. ‘Would one come today?’ I wondered.

No one came. They never did. It had been one hundred and eighty seven Tuesdays and no one had come. I plucked her from my shoulder, carried her back down the hill and into the hillhouse and set her onto the floor. She scratched at the kitchen wall to sharpen her claws as I finished preparing dinner. I was good at dinners.

Giveaway

There will be three Tolomay’s World and The Pool of Light eBook giveaways (Smashwords version which is readable on kindle, nook, kobo, and others). Names will be drawn from the list of those who leave comments on the interview within the first two days it is posted. Tolomay’s World and The Pool of Light eBook will be sent as soon as the drawing is concluded.

Buy links

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords
Kobo

Contact information

Facebook Page
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter
Blog
Websites
Goodreads
YouTube: Video 1 Video 2
Pinterest

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for stopping in. Please take a moment to follow this blog. Blogspot.com users can enter this blog addy (https://grineldamarkowitz.wordpress.com) by using the add option on the blogger dashboard.

For great opportunities to promote your books or find authors to read check out the BTS eMagazine. BTW, the eMag will be partnering with Barnes and Noble in the near future.

The BTS Facebook Groups are listed below:
(The Purpose of BTS: Special groups designed for authors and readers to interact, post their work, chat about their favorites, ask questions, and inspire others.)

Book Trailer Showcase Author News
Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors & Readers
Mystery & Thriller Authors & Readers
Inspirational Writers & Readers
Horror & Paranormal Authors & Readers
YA Authors & YA Readers
Sweet/Mainstream Romance & Historical Fiction Authors & Readers
BTS Promotions: Erotica Authors & Readers Group

