Tags

, ,

Content below the cut is PG-13.

April’s Not Only For Fools Author Extravaganza

author image

Author Angus Day ~ Science Fiction with lots of cross over elements.

Hi, Angus.  Glad you stopped in to visit.  Your audience awaits.

Do you have children, a significant other, or pets?

I live in Fort Collins Colorado with my wife and son.  My daughter has embarked on her career as a graphics designer.  My son Garrett is trying to determine what he wants to do with his future.  I’ve been an Infantryman, Swine Farmer, smattering of other trades and jobs and now I’m a manufacturing pharmaceutical chemist.

What do you like to do to balance the demands writing places on you?

What aspect of my life that is devoted to fitness favors swimming in open water which means I spend most of the year working out in a pool then hit the lakes when it warms up a bit.  My wife Cheryl safety kayaks for me when we manage to make it work.  I also like to fly fish and enjoy nature.

What is your perception of your personality.

I used to consider myself to be an alpha type personality but as I move on in life I’m noticing the resemblance of those traits to the denizen of a rodent wheel.  I believe I have diverted onto a path of not pursuing nebulous goals at the expense of people and surroundings that are important to me.  That is a change.

What do you like to read? What kind music do you prefer?

I like to read Science Fiction but I will attempt to read most anything one time.   Joe Haldeman, Phillip K. Dick, Ray Bradbury, Peter Hamilton, Isaac Asimov, Robert Heinlein, Harry Harrison, Douglas Adams, Tom Clancy, Robert Ludlem, Frank Herbert, Ben Bova, Arthur Clarke and many others.  These are but the most prominent of influencers in my literacy.

Music:  Alt-rock, Celtic, some classical.

What prepared you for becoming a writer? (education, inspiration by other writers; support from family, friends or others)?

When I was in seventh-grade my English teacher broke down my reading wall by introducing me to the Chronicles of Narnia.  Once I was over the intimidation of the Novel I started reading a lot more.  Like most everyone I found myself drawn to spectacular covers and found the inner matter to not always match my notions of what I was trying to enjoy.  There was a dry spell that lasted for decades because even though I was capable of being an avid reader I felt that I would have to devote my existence to Liberal Arts to even become a passable writer.  It really is odd the things we choose to take as laws in our environment which usually turn out to be the sore-headed opinion of others in a position of trust.

I turned back to reading, consuming two to three books per month in my forties and one day I suffered and epiphany while waiting on family members who were completing computer tasks.  ‘Why not use that time to write a novel and not hover over them?’

I can hear the TV weeping in the other room because I’ve ignored the hell out of it ever since reinventing myself as a writer.

The support has been touch and go.  I kept the writing secret at first because I felt no need to be mocked or I felt that if I said anything before I proved capable to myself that it would curse the enterprise.  I’ve been slowly winning people over.

How does your day-to-day life affect your writing?

Since my daily paying job is second shift manufacturing pharmaceutical chemist I have become very protective of my mornings and scrounging time for writing.  The competitors usually include:  Honey-do list, doctors appointments, the appointments of others, pets, snow shoveling, exercise if I’m lucky and prepping for second shift.  That being said I can usually apply the jaws of life to extract an hour of productive writing time daily.

I do find my attitude somewhat sour when folks who have options spread their crap into my time rather than compromising.  I can’t really say if that affects what gets written.

Where do you think you are in your writing career? Where do you want to be?

I feel that I’m at the beginning of my writing epic journey.  Seriously, I refuse to view it as a career at the moment because that strikes me as the muse’s death sentence and I don’t want that to happen.  Where I want to be is an interesting question as it constantly evolves so I will just say the present goal is to have enough material up to maintain a fan base.  It would be really cool to go to a convention some day and realize people are cosplaying your characters.

How long have you been writing? Casually or academically? Professionally?

I have been writing professionally (technical documents) and academically for thirty years in different venues.  The flavors were Standard Operating Procedures, business documents and scientific works related to my working areas at the time.  I’ve only been seriously, but casually, writing fiction for the last year.  Nothing quite like throwing your hat into the areas you’ve enjoyed for decades.

Are you an independently published writer or a traditionally published writer?

I started out self-publishing on Smashwords at the advice of Dayton Ward, who writes original and media tie-in fiction for Pocketbooks.  After seeing Smashwords and Amazon bicker for months over distribution, while my first title lay dormant in Smash’World’, I took the advice of Sam Gilmour (The Borrowed Kitchen) to run separate on KDP.  This last December was my first venture into the paperback world of createspace which occurred just prior to signing with GMTA.  Now I can more focus on the writing.

What do you write? (genre and sub-genre, target audience, and ebooks and/or hardcopies)

I write science fiction that has elements of erotica, space opera, military science fiction, romance and adventure.  My audience is the reader who would enjoy a tale of the future in which the characters make an attempt at finding balance, hope and or peace.  The works of the Next You Universe are available in ebook formats and print.

What do like and dislike about writing?

What I most dislike about writing usually involves talking about writing.  Yes, I know, don’t quit my day job.  The thing is I feel there is a preponderance of venues in which people feel compelled to be negative in the believe that it gifts them with a scholarly air, presents them as a connoisseur.  That typically strikes me as ‘douche-baggery’, see I can fit right in.  It is much more of a challenge academically and spiritually to be positive, to wade though the things you don’t like to find and talk about a few of the things you could like.

In short, I dislike critics who feel their calling is to be constantly critical.  Find something you like or create something.

Talk to us about your covers.

The covers have almost been a separate journey.  I started out trying to do them myself and determined I need to stick to the descriptive writing.  My daughter did the cover for Next You Interstellar LLC, an excellent job and if she wasn’t swamped bookcover 02with a graphics design career already I might still have her.

I had an artist do two covers: one for Legacy and the other Having Nice Things which were really good concept art pieces done in digital watercolor.  The key thing is that a book cover has to appeal to the reader to be successful.  It can be a great piece of art in itself, but the measure of success is it’s ability to hook the reader.

My first venture with a professional book cover artist came with Utopian Estates, Belinda Pepper.  She has also done the cover for my new work Destined for …Something and will be doing the covers for the re-release of my first three books with GMTA.  She’s awesome.

Do you have a fave character?

My favorite character in the series so far has been Dr. Abrams but that is subject to change.  If you want my vision of that character picture the behaviors of Johnny Depp and Jim Carey mashed up in the same body.  I’ve got a lot more books to write.

Do any of your characters reflect anyone you know?

For what the answer is worth, no.  Few in my life will ever believe it.

If you could meet one character from your writing, who would it be?

Breigan, a Vessir first introduced on the planet Rios.

If you could meet a favorite character (from some one else’s writing) or author who would it be and why?

Sam Gunn, from the imaginings of Ben Bova.  I want his plan for taking over the Solar System…and more.

My current work.

The latest work I have out is Utopian Estates.  My favorite character in it is actually bookcover 01Ronnie Rockman who is a supporting character.  The title came to me because the book centers on the subject of a housing development on Mars, why should the business of that be that different form on Earth.

On Amazon

I’m planning to release a fifth book in the Next You Universe, Destined for…Something by April 2013.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for stopping in. Please take a moment to follow this blog. Blogspot.com users can enter this blog addy (https://grineldamarkowitz.wordpress.com) by using the add option on the blogger dashboard.

For great opportunities to promote your books or find authors to read check out the BTS eMagazine. BTW, the eMag will be partnering with Barnes and Noble in the near future.

The BTS Facebook Groups are listed below:
(The Purpose of BTS: Special groups designed for authors and readers to interact, post their work, chat about their favorites, ask questions, and inspire others.)

Book Trailer Showcase Author News
Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors & Readers
Mystery & Thriller Authors & Readers
Inspirational Writers & Readers
Horror & Paranormal Authors & Readers
YA Authors & YA Readers
Sweet/Mainstream Romance & Historical Fiction Authors & Readers
BTS Promotions: Erotica Authors & Readers Group

