Tags

, ,

Content below the cut is not PG-13.

April’s Not Only For Fools Author Extravaganza

author image 01

Author Deliza Rafferty ~ Erotic Romance

Hello, Deliza.  It’s great of you to stop in today.

Greetings, Lil Lovers! Thank you for stopping by to check out my guest blog here on Grinelda’s site. I am honored to be a part of her “April’s Not Only For Fools” event.

Let’s see…where to start? What can I tell you about myself that won’t force me to kill you after you read it? I’m all “anonymous,” you see. Tres cool, right? Well…not really. It’s not because I’m fighting crime at night or anything…it’s because my work in the music business puts me in contact with a lot of people who really wouldn’t understand or approve of my smut supplying, so I had to come up with a pseudonym. Also my mother asked me not to “embarrass the family name.” So here I am. “Deliza” means “gives pleasure” in French and “Rafferty” is Celtic and translates to “rich and prosperous.” I reside in Hollywood, CA but was born and raised in the great state of New York. Upstate, farm country (no, the whole state isn’t made of concrete…really). I miss it the most in the fall. There is nowhere on earth that compares to the East Coast in autumn. What else? Oh, I am blissfully single and childless and intend to remain so. Well, at least the childless part. As for the single part…well, I like sex and I miss it when I don’t get it, so there’s that. Right now…missing it. Ugh. However, I am content being alone overall. I very much enjoy my solitude, because it allows for writing time and I’m not sure being involved in a serious relationship would. I have lots of good friends, so I get a lot of love whether I want it or not! Like Kelly Clarkson, “it doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone.”

Yup, totally just quoted Kelly Clarkson. Working in the music business lends itself to my writing a great deal. I am new to writing prose professionally though I’ve been a songwriter for years. I decided when I tackled this challenge to go with the sage advice of “writing what you know.” I know music. I know the business of music. I wish I was having sex (shut up). So I put it all together. It also occurred to me recently that the songs I’m most proud writing are those I wrote with or for someone else as opposed to those for myself. Apparently I like to tell other peoples’ stories more than my own. Vicarious living, folks. It’s how I roll.

That becomes my uber-smooth segue into talking about my delicious rock star heroine, Savannah Rossi. I have a total girl crush on her. She is a strong, smart, successful, ridiculously sexy musical prodigy who likes to get jiggy wit it often. She is not, however, a slut – she simply lives her life with the same carefree abandon as her male counterparts, which I find empowering. She’s an amalgamation of many of the wonderful female musicians I’ve known in my “real” career and a bit of the girl I wish I had been but for whatever reason wasn’t. In my latest novella “Hound Dog,” we also meet her ex, who viciously broke her heart at a young age, and he represents that whole hot mess to which we can all relate. This may sound very woe-is-me but really, it’s all good. I think that’s probably my favorite part of being a writer: therapeutic do overs. Cheaper than a shrink!

This makes for great motivation to keep going, even when I get exhausted by the promo work, which is probably my least favorite part of this new endeavor. No indie author can afford to just write anymore. We have to familiarize ourselves with all aspects of the publishing business – just like musicians. In that aspect I had a little knowledge going in, but have pleasantly discovered that it doesn’t seem quite as difficult to get some attention paid to my books as it is to a client’s music. Readers are voracious, eager to spread the word and seem willing to support authors financially. Average Joe Music Listener uses it as background noise and tends to think for that reason they ought to get it for free. The promo is time is consuming as an author, but ultimately seems to be more rewarding.

So I get to re-write pieces of my own history, get my revenge with no one actually getting hurt, have scorching hot sex with no fear of pregnancy or disease, essentially be God and create an entire world from scratch and do it all with a top secret, super sexy spy name.

Who wouldn’t want to be a writer?

BLURB

In “Hound Dog,” Volume 4 of the Savannah Rossi Chronicles, Savannah lands a major studio gig with one of the music industry’s hottest songwriter/producers. However, she is blindsided when she shows up to the job to find that the only man she ever gave her heart to – the one who also demolished it several years prior – bookcover 01is the sound engineer on the recording sessions. As painful memories are revisited, Savannah and Jax struggle to behave professionally in spite of the deep-seated hatred and intense desire they still hold for each other. Time does not necessarily heal all wounds – and new ones can still be inflicted…

The “Savannah Rossi Chronicles” follow the steamy adventures of sexy, independent, musically-gifted singer/songwriter Savannah Rossi, who is teetering on the verge of national success. This is no spoiled brat pop princess looking to be saved. Confident, driven, intelligent and unabashed in her sexuality, Savannah has created her own success and enjoys a vibrant sex life on her own terms with men of her choosing. Is it possible that any one man could tame such an independent free spirit? Who says she even needs to be tamed? Follow Savannah’s journey to find out.

*Contains graphic sexual content, language and mild violence.*

EXCERPT

You can read a snippet of “Hound Dog” here.

GIVEAWAY

I’m happy to giveaway all four currently available volumes of the Savannah Rossi Chronicles! To win, readers must provide their name and email address below the post and I will do a random drawing. Anyone who also “likes” my Facebook author page will later be eligible for prizes in my “500 Facebook Fans Promotion” (details on my website).

BUY LINKS

Smashwords
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

CONTACT INFO

Website/blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
EMail:  DelizaRafferty@aol.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for stopping in. Please take a moment to follow this blog. Blogspot.com users can enter this blog addy (https://grineldamarkowitz.wordpress.com) by using the add option on the blogger dashboard.

For great opportunities to promote your books or find authors to read check out the BTS eMagazine. BTW, the eMag will be partnering with Barnes and Noble in the near future.

The BTS Facebook Groups are listed below:
(The Purpose of BTS: Special groups designed for authors and readers to interact, post their work, chat about their favorites, ask questions, and inspire others.)

Book Trailer Showcase Author News
Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors & Readers
Mystery & Thriller Authors & Readers
Inspirational Writers & Readers
Horror & Paranormal Authors & Readers
YA Authors & YA Readers
Sweet/Mainstream Romance & Historical Fiction Authors & Readers
BTS Promotions: Erotica Authors & Readers Group

