Tags

, ,

Content below the cut is PG-13.

April’s Not Only For Fools Author Extravaganza

Author Victoria Adams ~ NA Contemporary/ Contemporary Romance

Glad to have you on my blog today, Victoria.  The floor’s all yours.

My name is Victoria Adams and I live in Ontario, Canada. I’m happily married – 30 years – and our daughter has flown the nest. Our home is ruled by two cats and a large saltwater aquarium, which hosts a residence starfish named Spike. In the summer, when I’m not writing, I tend my flower gardens and vegetable patch. We have recently started a small orchard, with plums, cherries, apples, pears and two peach trees.

I don’t read in my genre. Let me restate that – for relaxation I don’t read in my genre. I critique some wonderful authors. Two of which are unpublished, but I am waiting for the day when I can brag I cp’d and beta’d their releases. But when I cuddle up with a hot chocolate and a book, it is not romance or NA romance that I read. I’ve read a lot of the classics and by that I mean way back. I’ve read Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey. I love Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo. Not too much of a fan of Charles Dickens, other than The Christmas Carol. But my true love is English murder mysteries. I own the complete works of Dame Agatha Christie, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Dorothy L Sayers. I have read and re-read those books numerous times. Currently I’m in the middle of the Ellis Peters’ Cadfael series, a monk who solves murders in the 1100s.

My music tastes are a not main stream. Having studied dance, but not been blessed with a dancer’s body, my tastes run to the classics. I don’t write with music in the background. If an overture from a ballet came on, I’d be lost in the memory of the dance rather than in my chapter.

Where do I write? Wherever I am. I wrote a flash fiction as I was boarding an airplane. Just as the call came to board, my brain went – blah! And the whole scene popped into my head. I grabbed my journal and pen and scribbled away as I made my way to my seat.

My day is random and rarely goes to how I plan it out. I’m impulsive and easily distractible. The joy of life is most important to me. I can plan to write a chapter, but if a friend calls and wants to go shopping then I shut off my laptop and head out the door. For shame, some authors might say. But just because I’m out in the real world doesn’t mean I’m not researching. Being out where actual people are lets me watch how they walk, talk and interact. I can create more believable characters if I use human examples.

I’ve been writing stories for as long as I can remember, but I don’t consider myself a writer. I am a story teller. In ancient days, I would have been the one seated at the campfire, regaling people with the stories of past battles, or make believe adventures.

My motto is Picasso wasn’t always Picasso. At one point he was just a guy named Pablo painting strange pictures. I found the rules of romance restrictive and I don’t always follow them. While that will horrify some, others will understand. I don’t believe each of us is a clone of the other, therefore why should we write alike.

My favourite character from Circles Trilogy is Robert. He’s a fighter, but he never loses his humanity. His physical characteristics are based on the classmate who sat in front of me in school. My English teachers, all through high school, were definitely “old-school”, they sat us alphabetically. My name wasn’t Adams then and for every year of English, the same 4 boys sat around me. No names, but they were an interesting group. V was tall, dark haired and dark eyes. That was the basis for Robert’s physical description.

I have no idea where Robert’s personality came from, other than my imagination. If we met, I’d have nothing to ask him, as I already know everything about him.

Circles Trilogy – Dancing in Circles, Circles Divided and Circles Interlocked

Dancing in Circles – One born into privilege and a charmed life surrounded by love and family. The other born to a life of violence on the streets as the solemn gang bookcover 01 leader of the notorious Shoresmen. A young, idealistic co-ed, Julie, meets a jaded, cold gang member, Robert, and cracks his icy shell, allowing the warmth of her love to awaken his soul.

Circles Divided – Is the love of a girl from wealthy Westland and a street punk from the slums of the Shore strong enough to surpass all that life will throw at them and forge a life together? Is Julie willing to sacrifice her childhood dream of becoming a professional dancer for the man she loves? Is Robert willing bookcover 03to lay down his ties to the gang in order to hold onto his new found love? Sacrifices must be made, but will they be enough?

Circles Interlocked – Having been betrayed by the man she assumed she was destined to be with forever; Julie Anderson slapped Robert Holiday in an angry ending to their brief love affair. Heartbroken that her love affair didn’t bookcover 02end with the fairy tale Happily Ever After, Julie leaves town to pursue her dream of being a dancer. As fate has a curious sense of humor, eight years later, they wake up in bed together. Now it is up to love to fix what time cannot mend.

Excerpts from each book are on my blog – Victoria’s Pages of Romance

Buy Links

Dancing in Circles
Circles Divided
Circles Interlocked

Giveaway

I am happy to give an ecopy of whichever book the winner desires. Leave a comment and tell me which book you would like and include your email address.

Where to find me

Blog – Victoria’s Pages of Romance
FaceBook
Facebook Author Page
Facebook Circles Trilogy Page
Twitter
Website

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for stopping in. Please take a moment to follow this blog. Blogspot.com users can enter this blog addy (https://grineldamarkowitz.wordpress.com) by using the add option on the blogger dashboard.

For great opportunities to promote your books or find authors to read check out the BTS eMagazine. BTW, the eMag will be partnering with Barnes and Noble in the near future.

The BTS Facebook Groups are listed below:
(The Purpose of BTS: Special groups designed for authors and readers to interact, post their work, chat about their favorites, ask questions, and inspire others.)

Book Trailer Showcase Author News
Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors & Readers
Mystery & Thriller Authors & Readers
Inspirational Writers & Readers
Horror & Paranormal Authors & Readers
YA Authors & YA Readers
Sweet/Mainstream Romance & Historical Fiction Authors & Readers
BTS Promotions: Erotica Authors & Readers Group

