Tags

, ,

Content below the cut is not PG-13.

April’s Not Only For Fools Author Extravaganza

author image 01

Author Angelica Dawson ~ Erotica

I’m glad to have you here, Angelica.  Please share with us about yourself and  your writing.

Hello everyone! I’m happy Grinnie was able to find an opening for me.

So, who am I? I’m Angelica Dawson. I have been married to the same wonderful man for twelve years. Half of that time, we shared with our daughter. Although we haven’t expanded our family to include any non-human members, I suspect a rabbit, cat, or dog will join us when our daughter is old enough to care for it properly.

We live in central/northern Alberta. I say that because I live in Edmonton. Compared to Calgary (and the rest of populated Canada) Edmonton is pretty far north. However, if you look at a map of the province, we’re actually in the middle. I am an environmental consultant and work further north in the oil sands, so it doesn’t seem northern to me at all. That said, there is a lot of snow out my window and it doesn’t seem to be going anywhere.

I work part-time, so I have two days a week to chase down social media, reviewers, blogs, etc. I find that aspect of my writing career takes an inordinate amount of my time. I’d rather be writing. Each night, around 8pm, my daughter gets ready for bed and I begin my writing time. It is interrupted often by her in the next 30 minutes to an hour, but eventually she actually goes to sleep and I get a little work done.

My first release is only six months old, so I would definitely say I’m at at the beginning of my writing career. I’ve written a lot already (especially if you count all my fanfiction!) but publishing is a slow process, so I know I will have works in my hard drive that will probably never see an electronic reader, but that’s part of the process as well. I want to have a solid readership and a solid reading list. I’d like to have twenty or thirty titles and people itching for the next one. My goals are always based on reads. For the beginning, I’d love it if every one of my published piece got a thousand reads. That number will go up as time goes on, but I like to start somewhere realistic.

As for how I write, I am a pantser. Something, someone, whispers in my ear and almost instantly I have a character in my mind just waiting for me to discover more about him/her. Writing is part of that discovery. I’ve tried outlining and find it too constrictive. I like to give my characters room to roam. That said, I also like to give them a general path. Something like: we’re starting here and I’d like you to make your way there, please. Go ahead, find your way. And then they wander all over here and gone until I end up somewhere relatively close to where I was aiming. Why do I write that way? Probably because I think that way. I need to get this and that at the store, which reminds me that I was working on this project, which reminds me that I need to take that into work tomorrow, which adds another thing to the shopping list!

All of my work, so far, has been with traditional publishers. They take on the editing, the cover design, the listing of the book, and I get paid royalties based on sales. I don’t have the confidence to self-publish. I don’t believe my work is good enough without outside validation. I’m not willing to learn all the different things I need to in order to package and sell a book on my own. I am horrible at making covers and choosing titles and adore passing the responsibility for that onto my publisher! Will I ever publish independently? Maybe, but it won’t be soon.

What do I write? Anything and everything! Angelica is my erotica penname, and so I write romantic erotica, bdsm erotica, paranormal erotica, fantasy erotica…anything driven by sex. If sex is part of the backbone of the plot, Angelica writes it. I have also written literary fiction, YA, science fiction, horror…I’m willing to write anything if the right idea comes along. If you’re looking for something hot that also has intriguing story and characters, this is the place.

Usually, as is the case in Blue Moon House, my characters bear no relation to real people I know. But once in a while, like the couple in Leave Taking in the Serviced Anthology, I base them people very close to me. That marital relationship, a mix of familiarity and new exploration is just like theirs. So sometimes that happens.

Serviced recently released (March 1) and is still looking for its audience. With other nine authors, we are reaching out, and I hope your readers will be added to those looking for light but steamy fiction based on characters in the military. Although I’m trying to focus attention on my latest release, Leave Taking in Serviced, in the background, I am actively working on writing a series based on my novella Blue Moon House. As a vampire BDSM, it became clear with a small nudge from a pre-reader, that I could write a novella for each of the vampires. I’m finished five in one form or another and hope to see those published in the future.

Blurb

All’s fair in love and war, they say. Come find out if it’s true in these ten stories where soldiers prove that their skills in the field are only rivaled by their skills in the bedroom.

Leave Taking: Will has a surprise for his wife for their tenth anniversary. He’s coming home.

Excerpt

A smile spread over my face and I closed the door quietly behind me, setting my duffel on the floor. Unless I missed my guess, Dani was upstairs singing in the bathtub. I had dreamed of her leaping into my arms at the door, but fate had given me a better surprise. I twitched in my pants as I pulled off my boots, thinking about her with each note and splash coming from the bathroom. I padded ubookcover 01p the stairs.

“I don’t want, anybody else. When I think about you, I touch myself…”

I bit hard on my knuckles to keep from making a sound. The first muffle was laughter. The second was a groan as I peeked through the crack in the door. Danielle was shaving her legs, careful quick strokes down each long white limb. I sighed and adjusted myself. God, she had beautiful legs. I didn’t want to startle her while she had the blade in her hand.

The whole time she kept on singing with the music. “When I’m feeling down, I want you above me.”Oh, I was going to be above her all right. She was soaping her arms now and I didn’t mind giving her a little scare. I yanked the door open and she screamed, plunging her head under the water.

The Divinyls continued to touch themselves while I chortled and lunged to the tub, sitting on its edge despite the water coming over the side.

Dani’s head came up at the sound of my laugh. “Will! You scared the shit out of me! Don’t you ever… You’re home!” She jumped out of the tub to hug me, knocking us both to the tiled floor.

I kept laughing, nearly as wet as she was, holding her as she kissed my face.

“You don’t have to touch yourself anymore, honey,” I told her, still laughing. “I’ll be happy to do it for you.”

Giveaway

I will giveaway a copy of Serviced via a Rafflecopter giveaway.

Buy Links

Breathless Press
Amazon
All Romance eBooks

Contact Info

http://www.facebook.com/ServicedVolume1
http://angelicadawson.blogspot.com/
http://facebook.com/authorangelicadawson
http://twitter.com/angelicadawson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for stopping in. Please take a moment to follow this blog. Blogspot.com users can enter this blog addy (https://grineldamarkowitz.wordpress.com) by using the add option on the blogger dashboard.

For great opportunities to promote your books or find authors to read check out the BTS eMagazine. BTW, the eMag will be partnering with Barnes and Noble in the near future.

The BTS Facebook Groups are listed below:
(The Purpose of BTS: Special groups designed for authors and readers to interact, post their work, chat about their favorites, ask questions, and inspire others.)

Book Trailer Showcase Author News
Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors & Readers
Mystery & Thriller Authors & Readers
Inspirational Writers & Readers
Horror & Paranormal Authors & Readers
YA Authors & YA Readers
Sweet/Mainstream Romance & Historical Fiction Authors & Readers
BTS Promotions: Erotica Authors & Readers Group

