Tags

, ,

Content below the cut is not PG-13

April’s Not Only For Fools Author Extravaganza

Author Anthony Beal ~ Erotica

Thank you, Anthony, for being here to share your sophisticated writing and yourself the writer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What do you like to do to balance the demands writing places on you?

My hobbies (or more aptly, my stress relievers) include cooking, sampling and learning about new wines.  I’m also a devoted comic book geek and a fan of anime.

What do you like to read? What kind music do you prefer?

My reading taste cover a host of subjects, mostly unrelated to one another. I enjoy reading biographies of people whose works/accomplishments I admire (examples include Booker T. Washington, Mark Twain, Anais Nin) I also enjoy fiction in the horror and erotic genres, as well as books that examine Japanese language and culture.  My musical tastes are equally as varied; if played nonstop, the contents of my iTunes library would span more than 10 days and include music from the likes of John Coltrane, Esthero, Psyche Origami, Acoustic Alchemy, Nina Simone, Weekend Players, Flying Lotus, and Everything But The Girl, just to name a small few.

Is there anything else you’d like the reader to know about you?

1. I enjoy traveling whenever the opportunity presents itself.
2. After defusing an impending fistfight outside a NYC dive bar years ago, I got kissed on the cheek and called an angel by the more rational of the two men involved before he departed without punching anyone. That remains one of my favorite things ever said to me by a stranger.
3. Being a father is by far the best thing I’ve ever done or ever been in my entire life.

What prepared you for becoming a writer?

The works of my favorite authors in the genres of horror/erotic horror/erotica, as I crdit them with first inspiring me to try my hand at writing.

What is your writing style. Why do you think your writing style is such as it is?

I think my writing style is constantly evolving, so what it is now isn’t what it was a couple of years ago, nor what it will be a few years from now. I write as I do, at least as pertains to my erotica writing, because I enjoy finding new ways to paint with words.  That’s always an underlying goal when I write: to create memorable illustrations of human interaction that are occasionally tasteful, occasionally downright filthy, but always capable of eliciting a strong reaction (even one of dislike, since I don’t pretend to expect that everything I write will be loved by every reader 100 percent of the time) and hard to get out of one’s head once the story ends.

What do you write?

I write fiction in the erotica, horror, and horror erotica genres, my target audience being adults age 21 and older. I’ve published several short stories as ebooks, and have also had my works published in multiple print and electronic anthologies such as volumes 1-3 of the Dark Dreams horror fiction series, Succulent: Chocolate Flava II edited by bestselling erotica author Zane, and more.

How do you keep yourself motivated to write?

Striving always to keep improving my craft, my writing style, my best methods of turning a phrase or constructing a scene in a believable, relatable way keeps me motivated, as I never want to rest on my perceived laurels.  I must get better.  All the time.

If you could meet one character from your writing, who would it be?

I would meet Esme from ‘The Escapists: An Erotic Fantasy Novel’. I would want to have lunch or dinner with her and hear all about her life after the events of the novel.  I’d want to know she was happy and that her life had turned out for the better in ways that pleased and fulfilled her.

Do you have a fave character? I try not to.

Inasmuch as a writer’s characters are like his/her children (speaking only for myself on that score; some writers may disagree) it’s not nice to favor one child over the other(s).  Having said that, ‘Escapists’ is my most recent work and by far took the longest time for me to complete, so there are several characters in that book whom I like very much.

What is something you’d like the reader to know about you or your writing?

It most certainly is not for everyone, and it never will be.  People who get offended easily are advised to pass on it. People who love language and writing that can be as lyrical as it is blunt and leaves little to nothing to the imagination might get a kick out of it.

My erotica writing has been most- and perhaps best-informed by the works of Anais Nin and Henry Miller.

Thank you for this opportunity to talk a bit about myself and my writing. My hobbies (or more aptly, my stress relievers) include cooking, sampling and learning about new wines.  I’m also a devoted comic book geek and a fan of anime.

Comics aren’t all I read, though.  My reading taste cover a host of subjects, mostly unrelated to one another. I enjoy reading biographies of people whose works/accomplishments I admire (examples include Booker T. Washington, Mark Twain, Anais Nin) I also enjoy fiction in the horror and erotic genres, as well as books that examine Japanese language and culture.  My musical tastes are equally as varied; if played nonstop, the contents of my iTunes library would span more than 10 days and include music from the likes of John Coltrane, Esthero, Psyche Origami, Acoustic Alchemy, Nina Simone, Weekend Players, Flying Lotus, and Everything But The Girl, just to name a small few.

As for other things that will help you know me better:

The works of my favorite authors in the genres of horror/erotic horror/erotica prepared me for being a writer, as I credit them with first inspiring me to try my hand at writing. I write fiction in the erotica, horror, and horror erotica genres, my target audience being adults age 21 and older. My erotica writing has been most- and perhaps best-informed by the works of Anais Nin and Henry Miller. I’ve published several short stories as ebooks, and have also had my works published in multiple print and electronic anthologies such as volumes 1-3 of the Dark Dreams horror fiction series, Succulent: Chocolate Flava II edited by bestselling erotica author Zane, and more.

I think my writing style is constantly evolving, so what it is now isn’t what it was a couple of years ago, nor what it will be a few years from now. I write as I do, at least as pertains to my erotica writing, because I enjoy finding new ways to paint with words.  That’s always an underlying goal when I write: to create memorable illustrations of human interaction that are occasionally tasteful, occasionally downright filthy, but always capable of eliciting a strong reaction (even one of dislike, since I don’t pretend to expect that everything I write will be loved by every reader 100 percent of the time) and hard to get out of one’s head once the story ends.

Striving always to keep improving my craft, my writing style, my best methods of turning a phrase or constructing a scene in a believable, relatable way keeps me motivated, as I never want to rest on my perceived laurels.  I must get better.  All the time.

Inasmuch as a writer’s characters are like his/her children I try not to favor one child over the other(s).  Having said that, ‘Escapists’ is my most recent work and by far took the longest time for me to complete, so there are several characters in that book whom I like very much.  If I could meet one character from my writing, I’d meet Esme from ‘The Escapists: An Erotic Fantasy Novel’. I would want to have lunch or dinner with her and hear all about her life after the events of the novel.  I’d want to know she was happy and that her life had turned out for the better in ways that pleased and fulfilled her.

My writing is most certainly is not for everyone, and it never will be.  People who get offended easily are advised to pass on it. People who love language and writing that can be as lyrical as it is blunt and leaves little to nothing to the imagination might get a kick out of it.

Which one of your publications will you be sharing in the interview?

My debut work of book-length erotica, titled The Escapists: An Erotic Fantasy Novel

Blurb

On an unnamed resort island frequented by wealthy women seeking sexual thrills, Esme will lose her heart to a man paid to deliver them. If she isn’t careful however, she and everyone involved may lose more to the ancient gods at war on those grounds.

“One woman’s joy is another woman’s sadness…”

Excerpt

The Island


Its existence is a guarded secret known only to those affluent enough to enjoy its benefits and broken enough to desire them.

The Veriagones
The island’s most attractive young men have long maintained a lucrative sex trade in pleasuring well-to-do female vacationers from all over the world.

The Women
They come in droves to spend their days lounging in tropical warmth and their nights drunk on the flesh of hard-muscled strangers rewarded with money and gifts to ravish them in every way.

bookcover 01

For generations, wealthy women have traveled there in search of fleeting escape from passionless marriages, from frantic work schedules, to escape from

their problems as they can do no place else. On the island their only cares are for the roughness of the hands driving their orgasms. The most successful veriagones are those who know this well enough to never fall in love with the ladies they serve.

The most beautiful of the veriagones, 22-year old Reynaldo is exploring his first genuine romance with flirtatious local bartender Sandrine, but is quickly selected for his sensual talents by Esme, a stunning redhead on holiday who is more than twice his age. Esme finds in Reynaldo what she has spent years pursuing: a man not only undaunted by her overtly sexual nature, but one who proves a match for it.

Unbeknownst to any of them, the island and the ancient deities that have warred there since time began have selected Reynaldo for something as well. A choice made by an imprisoned goddess will claim lives, test relationships, and require courage and decisive action of those wanting to escape divine wrath with their hearts intact.

Are any of the scenes or storylines in your book real life experiences?

I think the best fictional stories are those that have perhaps dipped a toe into the writer’s real-life experiences, so I’ll admit that some situations in the book were born of real-life interactions I’ve experienced.  I have to keep you guessing, though, as to which situations those are.

Buy Links:
Smashwords
Barnes and Noble

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for stopping in. Please take a moment to follow this blog. Blogspot.com users can enter this blog addy (https://grineldamarkowitz.wordpress.com) by using the add option on the blogger dashboard.

For great opportunities to promote your books or find authors to read check out the BTS eMagazine. BTW, the eMag will be partnering with Barnes and Noble in the near future.

The BTS Facebook Groups are listed below:
(The Purpose of BTS: Special groups designed for authors and readers to interact, post their work, chat about their favorites, ask questions, and inspire others.)

Book Trailer Showcase Author News
Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors & Readers
Mystery & Thriller Authors & Readers
Inspirational Writers & Readers
Horror & Paranormal Authors & Readers
YA Authors & YA Readers
Sweet/Mainstream Romance & Historical Fiction Authors & Readers
BTS Promotions: Erotica Authors & Readers Group

