Tags

, ,

Content below the cut is not PG-13.

April’s Not Only For Fools Author Extravaganza

Author: Grinelda Markowitz
Genre: Erotic Sci-Fi
Content Rating: Not PG-13

Hi everyone and thanks for stopping in to visit my guest blog post.

To start with, a little about myself, I live a fairly solitary life.  Not a lonely life, just a solitary one.  I meet up with friends when my schedule permits, but many times we find it’s hard to get schedules to mesh in order to meet up so it may be a few months in between get-togethers.  My friends are very supportive of my writing career which started at the end of 2011.  There are no pet friends on the home front, as I went fur free in 2000 and haven’t looked back.  Living in a part of the country which is very dusty, I grew tired of battling the dust and the fur and the day-to-day requirements of keeping house.  It’s not easy for me to establish a routine for getting daily requirements met, so it’s even more difficult to establish a routine for writing.

What I find works many times, when I can’t seem to get time to write, is to just set aside all other tasks, chores and errands and write until I drop.  The built up tension of wanting to write provides enough momentum for me accomplish a great deal in a short amount of time.  I work to put bread on the table, so that’s another thing that takes up a lot of my time and unfortunately, narrows the window in which I have to write.  I make it fun by finding creative ways to fit everything in.  Even though I’m still very new to writing seriously, I have been on a steep learning curve from everything to doing the actual writing, promoting my writing, networking and assisting other writers who are newer to the craft than I am.  I don’t have much to share, but I share what I have.

There’s one thing I won’t share, however.  Sushi.  I love sushi so much, I taught myself to make my own sushi rolls and several variations.  Oriental food is my favorite cuisine, but I also like a well-charred hotdog from the grill.  When I’m writing, I just do the fast food thing as there’s a Mickey D around the corner from me and a few other take out places.  I don’t have a taste for alcohol, don’t drink, so it surprises me that Cook, in the book I discuss below, is most noted for the best mead in the City of Kalaydan.  He always wins the annual fair and has several variations which are asked for by name.  Cook isn’t my favorite character, but he’s one of them.  I’m really looking forward to writing the scenes in the next two books in the series in which he plays a prominent role.  I think Hawne, Grayt’s sister is my favorite character.  Not only because of the way I came about her name, but because her personality is a nice contrast to her sister’s and as a result she brings out personality traits in Grayt we might otherwise not see.

It was interesting to watch the story unfold, the characters develop.  I’m looking forward to the further development of existing characters and the addition of new ones.  My writing tends to unfold either in full meals or in nibbles.  Book II is developing using a patchwork quilt approach, whereas I wrote Book I from chapter one to the end then inserted a few things here and there.  I don’t have much of a problem with motivation to write as most times I find it rather entertaining to get it down on paper.  There are times, while writing that I break out in a fully jiggling belly laugh.  There have been sad times as well.  I know one of my characters will die in the next book, so instead of the belly laugh, there were tears.  It’s one of those things that must happen in a story to move it along.  I’ve seen the end of the series as well.  There will actually be four books, not three books.  Book IV was as much a surprise to me as it will be to the reader.

Blurb

In the city of Kalaydan, Arrinay and Bezhyanya, the senior members of the ruling family, are faced with the early maturation of their daughter, Gtmkc final 09-26-12 750X1125ayadnae.  She must start the training.  It’s Kalaydan law.  Their daughter has other ideas.  After concocting a plan to avoid responsibility and almost succeeding in carrying it out, Gayadnae’s life takes an unexpected turn.

Grayt, the ever-present serving woman to Arrinay, fills many roles and has her fingers in a number of pies.  There’s definitely more to her than is apparent on the surface.  Along with coordinating activities in the Main House, keeping the young mistress in line, and talking to horses, Grayt has a more secret agenda with a graver responsibilities.

A hint of trouble on the horizon and other darker activities weave their way through the backdrop of this delightful tale which takes place in the city of Kalaydan.

Excerpt

You’ll find an excerpt from the book on my Blogger.

Giveaway

I’m giving away an ecopy of  The Kalaydan Chronicles:  Book I ~ The Moon-kissed Chi  by drawing.  To enter, please be sure to include your email address in your comment.  For a consolation prize, I’m happy to send out a bookmark to those who are not selected for the book.

Buy Links

Create Space (for a hard copy)
Smashwords
Amazon

Contact Information

Smashwords Author Page
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Kalaydan Chronicles Facebook Fan Page
WordPress
Good Reads
LiveJournal
Blogger
Twitter
EMail: grinelda.markowitz@gmail.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for stopping in. Please take a moment to follow this blog. Blogspot.com users can enter this blog addy (https://grineldamarkowitz.wordpress.com) by using the add option on the blogger dashboard.

For great opportunities to promote your books or find authors to read check out the BTS eMagazine. BTW, the eMag will be partnering with Barnes and Noble in the near future.

The BTS Facebook Groups are listed below:
(The Purpose of BTS: Special groups designed for authors and readers to interact, post their work, chat about their favorites, ask questions, and inspire others.)

Book Trailer Showcase Author News
Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors & Readers
Mystery & Thriller Authors & Readers
Inspirational Writers & Readers
Horror & Paranormal Authors & Readers
YA Authors & YA Readers
Sweet/Mainstream Romance & Historical Fiction Authors & Readers
BTS Promotions: Erotica Authors & Readers Group

