Tags

,

Content below the cut may not be PG-13.

Author Caroline Clemmons

Today Caroline Clemmons is visiting Grinelda’s Blog to talk about herself the individual, the writer, and also to discuss her book, and other things. Please give her a warm welcome by commenting below.

My sweet husband, whom I call Hero, and I live in North Central Texas with our rescued pets: a black Shih Tzu, a huge black and white tuxedo cat, and a shy orange tabby. Our two grown daughters live nearby. When I’m not writing, I enjoy reading, family, travel, genealogy, and browsing estate sales and antique malls.  Writing is a very solitary profession, so I enjoy my writer’s groups. My close-knit critique group and I not only help one another with writing, we are also a sisterhood and group therapists. My eclectic reading tastes that range from romantic comedy to mysteries.  Some of my favorite romance authors are my western romance friends and too many more to name. When I’m writing, I listen to classical music. In my opinion, the music adds rhythm to my writing and helps me write faster. Other times, my diverse music choices vary depending on my mood (thank you, Pandora Radio).

As a child I was ill a great deal of the time and used my imagination to create wonderful adventures. In school, reading was my favorite subject until I discovered journalism class. Working for a newspaper later was good training for meeting deadlines and covering a wide range of subjects. Now all I need to write is to plop myself in my desk chair at my PC and apply myself. I’m sure you’ve heard the saying, “If you want to make God laugh, make plans.” Yep, life often interferes with art and creativity.  Writing is such a wonderful profession, though: I can work in my sweats wearing no makeup.

My first book, a contemporary western romance, was published with Kensington Publishing in 1998, and they published two historicals and a novella in 2003 and 2004. In 2010, The Wild Rose Press began publishing several of my books that included contemporary, historical, and time travel romances. In 2011 ( although I love The Wild Rose Press staff and other authors), I began self-publishing when I regained rights to my Kensington publications. I now self-publish in print through Create Space and ebooks through numerous online sources. I have so many stories I still want to write that I can’t wait to get this one finished and begin the next one!

So many authors have helped me along the way. Lorraine Heath was helpful when I first began, and Liliana Hart has been especially generous with her knowledge lately. However readers respond to my writing, I’d like them to keep in mind that I work long hours and create the best book I possible can each time. I’d also like to remind readers that the kindest thing they can do for a writer is to leave a favorable review on Amazon or Nook or wherever they acquire the book. We also love email from readers telling us how much a reader enjoyed a book.

Today, I’d like to share, BRAZOS BRIDE, which is Book One of the Men of Stone Mountain trilogy. I am releasing the final book in the trilogy on February 25th. Although the books stand alone, I hope you won’t miss any of the three Stone brothers. I love this family for their close knit support of one another, and can’t choose a favorite brother. I adore their aunts, Maggie and Lizzie, because they’re patterned after my mom and her sister. Each of the trilogy takes place near the Brazos River in North Texas, hence the first title.

BRAZOS BRIDE Blurb:

Hope Montoya knows someone is poisoning her, but who? She suspects her mother was also poisoned and knows her father was murdered. Who wants her family eliminated? She vows to fight, but realizes she won’t last the eight months until Caroline Clemmons Brazos Brideshe turns twenty-five and her uncle no longer controls her or her estate. If she marries, she gains control now, but only if she weds a man she can trust. Only one man comes near meeting her requirements. Can she rely on him to protect her and capture the killer…but then to leave?

Micah Stone has been in love with Hope since the first time he saw her. But he was accused of her father’s murder and surely would have hung if not for his two brothers’ aid. Most in the community still believe him guilty. But the drought has him too worried about water for his dying cattle to care about his neighbors’ opinions. When Hope proposes a paper marriage in exchange for land on the Brazos River and much needed cash, her offer rubs his pride raw. He can’t refuse her, and so their adventure begins. He and Hope have to stay alive and discover the killer before they become victims in the deadly assaults.

BRAZOS BRIDE Excerpt:

Set up: this takes place on the wedding night of their paper marriage. To make the marriage appear genuine to the townspeople, they have taken a room at the hotel:

She looked at her hands. Perhaps she was unreasonable. Or maybe insane for sympathizing with a man who’d had to work harder because of her family.

“I know it is an odd situation. If—if you wear your shirt and britches, I guess it would be all right if you slept on top of the cover here.” She patted the bed beside her.

He froze. Not a muscle moved, and he only stared at her. Had she misunderstood? Did he think her offer too forward?

She babbled, “That is, if you want to. You said I should trust you. Well, maybe you would be more comfortable where you are.” Why didn’t he say something? Would he prefer sleeping in a chair to sharing the bed?

From the street below, she heard raucous laughter and someone called to a man named Ben. Music from a piano, she supposed in the saloon, drifted in through the open windows. A gust of breeze moved the curtains and slid across her skin. In this room, though, there was no sound.

Slowly, he rose and extinguished the lamp as he moved across the room. She slid one of the pillows beside hers then scooted down. What had possessed her to offer him half her bed? Would he think she invited more?

Too late to take it back now, for the mattress dipped as he stretched out. Quaking inside at the thought of him so near, she turned her back to him. She heard his weary sigh, as if he relaxed for the first time in a long while.

“Good night,” she offered, and hoped he understood the finality of the phrase.

“Yep. Good night, Mrs. Stone.” The mattress shook as he turned his back to her. She felt the soles of his feet press against her ankles. He must be several inches too long for the bed and she guessed he had to bend his legs to fit. She didn’t dare turn to see firsthand.

She lay perfectly still, afraid to take a deep breath. Soon his breathing changed and she knew he slept. Outside the open window the town quieted and the distant tinkling of the piano was the only sound. Light from the full moon illuminated the room and slanted across the bed. A soft breeze drifted across her, lulling her in its caress.

With a sigh, she fought to relax, but abdominal pain kept her awake no matter how her body cried for rest. Perhaps if she planned, she’d forget the pain and chills that racked her frame.

Plan, yes. She needed a plan for food preparation when she returned to her home. No, Micah said he had a plan. Oh, dear, once more he took charge when it was her life, her home.

Maybe Aunt Sofia and Uncle Jorge would have left by then and things would be fine. Already she felt more secure. She sensed her eyelids drifting closed and the sleep’s blessed relief approaching.

A gunshot ripped apart the night.

The blast startled her and she screamed as something thudded near her head, showering her hair and face with splinters. Panic immobilized her. What had happened?

Micah dragged her onto the floor as a bullet ripped into the mattress.

Buy Links:

Amazon for print and e-book

Smashwords for ebook

Nook for ebook

Upcoming Events:

BLUEBONNET BRIDE release February 25, 2013

Booksigning at Dreamin’ In Dallas Conference 7:00 P.M. on March 29, 2013

Readers can find me here:

Website
Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Pinterest
Amazon Author’s Page

