Tags

, , , , , ,

Writing in the Best Of Times – The Worst of Times

The content below is PG-13

How often have I said, I’m not in the mood?  When I do, I hear Gurney Halleck in the background, “Not in the mood? Mood’s a thing for cattle and loveplay, not writing!”  If this were a quote of the words used, he’d be dead wrong!

From An Inspirational Snack at The Better Man Project

That’s precisely when we ought to write.  When our mood reflects a
frame of mind which isn’t run of the mill, that’s exactly when we should
be cloistered with pen and paper, or our keyboards, or tape recorders.
That’s when we capture a passion which is stronger and more deeply
felt than usual.

When you capture that passion, whether it’s anger or fury, happiness or elation, sadness or depression, that’s when our writing truly becomes ours.  That’s when we can say, I’ve imbedded a bit of my soul in what I’ve written.  Remember Valdemorts imbedded his soul in the object of one of his most notorious crimes.

Here are a couple of thoughts to ponder on passion and writing:

Ink and paper are sometimes passionate lovers, oftentimes brother and sister, and occasionally mortal enemies.  ~Terri Guillemets

Our passions shape our books; repose writes them in the intervals.  ~Proust, The Past Recaptured, 1927

Not many months ago, I awoke from a dream in which I came to
realize, I would have to kill off one of my favorite characters.  This
character has been a pleasure to create.  I’ve bottled up that
feeling so when the time comes to write it, I can draw on the intensity
of those intense emotions.  In another dream I understood a scene
that would have to be written involving death and mourning centering
around two characters I’ve only sketched a bit.  I was so over-
whelmed that morning when I awoke, I couldn’t write the scene at first.
I fully expect to explore the full extent of the power I wield when
I tap into a torrent of unbridled emotion as I touch pen to paper.

I leave you with this.  The range of emotions we experience as human work in tandem with the implements by which we sample this world.  This mortal coil.  As we attempt to document the nature of life and living through our fiction and nonfiction, we are best able to write a photograph for our readers to read, when we use all of our six senses.  The sixth sense I understand to be the emotional sense which is composite of what we’ve touched, tasted, seen, felt and heard.

