Tags

, , , , , ,

Get ‘Er Done And Celebrate When You Do . . .

The link below is to content which is PG -13.

Old Clocks

Old Clocks (Photo credit: servus)

I push myself constantly.  I’ve been like that for as long as I can remember.  Maybe that’s not a good way to put it since my memory isn’t so great.  But, you get the point.  Recently, I got back some lab work which really surprised me.  I’m so anemic, the results aren’t even in an acceptable range.  So, I’ve pushed myself, when my body isn’t receiving enough iron to get up and go.  Must be I’m some kind of a motivator.

With all this pushing myself, it’s the getting-it-done part that has me stymied.  Why, with all this momentum and activity, do I take hours, days, or months to accomplish a task that should only take considerably less time.  I’m the queen of procrastination, for sure.  I suspect that being so busy I never have a spare moment has something to do with the dragging-of-the-feet I so often fall into.  There has to be a way to better manage my time.  Controlling it is never  an option.  I need to close the black hole through which all my time seems to go.

I’m not a big tv watcher but I do have a social networking issue.  I’ve curbed that and defined it within boundaries that center around accommodating my writing efforts.  I have a pretty comprehensive schedule mapped out for tasks on the internet. This functions in tandem with a flow chart which clearly defines to what use I should put each blog and other virtual devices.  Next, the  issue of how to manage a household of one, a daily bread-winning effort, multiple outside interests and my writing is a concern.  I came across Midge Raymond’s book Everyday Writing in _The Writer_ magazine.  She outlines ways a person with a very busy lifestyle can still meet their writing goals.  Most novel of her suggestions is that not all writing has to be done in front of the computer keyboard or by pen moving across paper.

To paraphrase Nick Mamatas: writers have to stop caring if they live or die. If writers ever complain about writing, what they’re actually complaining about is how they let everything else (like a day job, family obligations, or community commitments) get in the way of their writing. They’re complaining about not writing or not finding the time to write. They’re complaining about their worries, their fears, and their insecurities about the writing they’re doing.  From, Rejoice! On this day a novel is born by Leslie Clements

So, in making writing a priority in my life, it doesn’t mean I have to forego life’s daily tasks.  It simply means I have to become more organized and adept at employing shortcuts.  Multitasking is my best friend.  In essence, yes, I’ll get ‘er done, but I’m better able celebrate those milestones of completion along the way.  Remember the old adage, work smarter not harder.
Please visit Leslie Clements’ blog post, “Rejoice!  On this day a novel is born.”  It’s very well-written and engaging.  My inspiration for this article came from that piece.

