Tags

, , , , , ,

Up and Down and Away We Go

Links and content contained below are for PG-13 material.

As a novice writer, I’m impressed with how much there is to learn about the business of self publishing.  Seems every day, I learn about something else which will make my writing better, more visible and/or easily accessible.  For years I’ve dabbled here and there with the pen but never had a hope of publication.  I just didn’t know how to start in that direction.  The one thing which makes this all possible is the availability of the internet.  Knowing what I need to know and that the answers to all my questions are available on the internet and in books prevents my feeling overwhelmed and inadequate to the task.  Then, I had the crazy idea to embrace blogging.

The power of blogging is my most recent discovery.  The Internet, parJohnny Mnemonict of what is aptly dubbed the information superhighway, makes it possible to whittle down a few days’ research to just a few hours or better part of a day.  Blogging is a major medium in that network of well-researched (and probably not well-researched) information.  The sheer volume of thoughts, ideas and knowledge dispersed thereon and its speed-of-light accesiblility makes me wonder if the black shakes, an epidemic particular to the world of _Johnny Mnemonic_, isn’t a possibility in our day and age.  I suppose we lack a few components of technology for that to be realized.

After hanging my head for a few days, I addressed the criticisms.  Excerpt from _Riding the Roller Coaster_ by Patricia Zick.

Though I’ve not experienced the first negative reviews on my book, _The Kalaydan Chronicles:  Book I ~ The Moon-kissed Chi_, I accept that they may be coming as my presence on the internet, my presence and that of my work, increases.  I’m not biased, of course, but I realize not everyone will grok with my writing and those few — I hope — will let me know.  Grinelda writes erotica, after all.  I wonder if I’ll face negative criticisms head on or will they devastate me?

I read a recent article by Bret Anthony Johnston, “Why We Pick Ourselves up After Getting Rejected,” on the topic of rejection.  It was well written and very insightful.  His comparison of the writer’s experience of rejection to that of the skateboarders’ progression from easier tricks to increasingly more difficult tricks is not unlike the writer’s experience with the public’s reaction to their books and stories.  Of course the skateboarder eats pavement when failing, fortunately, that isn’t so for the writer.  It’s possible the resulting discomfort possesses a similar degree of intensity in the two scenarios.  The mark of success with regard to the skateboarder would be landing soles down on the deck with the wheels making contact with the concrete, for the writer receiving a check in the mail accepting their submission.  My blog post discussing the September 2012 issue of _The Writer_ includes mention of Johnston’s article.

So, this is me, taking a flying leap and landing soles down on the deck, wheels to the concrete as I goofy-foot through the vert ramp hoping to catch air as the momentum builds.

