Tags

, ,

This entry is suitable for PG-13 audiences

Reference Materials

   I like to have answers to questions at my fingertips.   I’ve listed a few below.   For those reference items which do not fit in my budget, I make a list of questions then spend time at a Barnes and Noble pouring over the books in question with a cuppa near at hand.

  1. The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition by University of Chicago Press Staff
  2. New Oxford American Dictionary, Edition 3 by Oxford University Press, Christine A. Lindberg
  3. Random House Webster’s Unabridged Dictionary by Random House
  4. Oxford American Writer’s Thesaurus
  5. On Writing by Stephen King
  6. On Writing Well: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction by William Zinsser
  7. The Elements of Style by William Strunk, E. B. White
  8. The Hodges Harbrace Handbook / Edition 18 by Cheryl Glenn and Loretta Gray
  9. English Grammar For Dummies by Geraldine Woods
  10. English Grammar Workbook For Dummies by Geraldine Woods

Call me old fashioned.  Though I know I can get many answers on the internet, there’s something that says “reliable information” when it’s between the covers of a bound book.

