Tags

, ,

This entry is suitable for PG-13 audiences

Being Organized Part III – Time Management

My all-time favorite task (tongue in cheek) is time management.  This is important and can be challenging.  I’m single and employed full-time and I hold down a part-time job as well.  This leaves limited time to get meals, do laundry, keep house and the kitchen, pursue interests, sleep and oh, yes, to write.  For someone who is a single parent and has to manage the above tasks for themselves and multiple others, the challenge is even greater.

The ability to multi-task is one of the most useful skills one can acquire.  I carry some of my work with me at all times in case I can squeeze in an extra moment or two at work or while waiting in queue somewhere.  I check mail or run other errands while I have laundry in at the Laundromat.  As I’m working my way through a particularly challenging segment of a story, I take frequent breaks and either pick up around the apartment or work on the kitchen.  When I move between tasks, I feel like I’m accomplishing something, even if it isn’t with my writing.

